Being White and Jewish is Complicated, Being Black and Jewish is Simple

One gets privilege, the other gets punished

C. Seals
3 min readMar 3, 2022
Photo by Melanie Kreutz @ unsplash

The other day, a friend and I were discussing Whoopi Goldberg’s suspension from The View and the article I‘d written about it.

We both agreed that the Holocaust was a racially-motivated genocide because Hitler saw Jewish people as a different race, even though he and the Jews he murdered were White.

I wondered if it would be seen the same way if everyone was Black. So I came up with a scenario:

If a brown-eyed Black person believed that Black people with blue eyes were a separate race and committed a mass genocide of them, would that also be considered racially-motivated?

Race exists in the eye of the beholder (no pun intended), so my hypothetical Holocaust should be seen like the Jewish Holocaust.

It wouldn’t be, because the the rules of race don’t apply equally to Black people.

I can hear the debates in Liberal media:

“The killer saw them as a different race, the same way Hitler saw Jews.”

“Black people with blue eyes don’t have their own religion and culture like Jewish people, so it can’t be racially motivated.”

--

--

C. Seals

I have to live this kind of life, to write the things I need to write.